Early Years Foundation Stage profile Goals(EYFS)

The EYFS profile is completed in the final term of the Reception year. It measures a child's attainment in 17 areas of learning, known as Early Learning Goals (ELGs). These are:

Communication and language development
  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding (e.g. following instructions, responding to questions)
  • Speaking
Physical development
  • Moving and handling (showing good control and coordination in large movements, like climbing, and small, like using scissors)
  • Health and self-care
Personal, social and emotional development
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour
  • Making relationships
Literacy and Maths
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measures
Understanding of the world
  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology
Expressive arts and design
  • Exploring and using media and materials (including music and dance)
  • Being imaginative

Grading of ELGs

For each of the ELGs, there are three possible gradings:

  • At the 'expected' level of development
  • At the 'emerging' level of development (ie they haven't quite reached it yet)
  • 'Exceeding' the expected level of development.